How my Yoruba upbringing has made me a better man

We are in the age of the ‘Yoruba demon’. A term that describes a philandering man of Yoruba origin. I still do not understand why almost Yoruba boys are now grouped under this tag. Common people! We are not the only heart breakers out there. The Hausa mafia, Urhobo United, Ijaw Goons, Ibo Controllers are also out there so please spare me this Yoruba demon talk.

_MG_9902

Growing up in a Yoruba household was fun.  From an early age, I and my siblings were taught the importance of respecting our elders, the importance of good education, the advantages of having a close knit family, the impact confidence would have in your life, Religious tolerance, the advantages of using enough pepper when cooking your meals, the importance of loyalty, why you shouldn’t cheat people and so on and so forth.

I could go on and on about the positive impact my Yoruba upbringing has had on my life. But by now, I’m sure you get the drift.

So, dear Yoruba peeps. When anyone attempts to label you a demon, let them know you are different. Either through your actions or via the list above.

The age of the Yoruba Angel beckons.

Leave a Reply

